Kumbha Mela
This section contains information on Ardh Kumbh Mela dates to be held in Allahabad in 2019 and in future.

Kumbh Mela Dates

Kumbh Mela 2001Kumbh Mela, the grandest of all gatherings is a commingling of millions of souls that come together to purge themselves before entering the heavenly realm of God; it is an open invitation, which is grabbed on like the very last opportunity by the devotees to deem themselves fit for an entry. It is held every three years in each of the four different locations - Allahabad, Haridwar, Nasik and Ujjain, returning to each of the four places after a gap of every twelve years. Besides the regular Kumbh Mela, an Ardh (half) Kumbh Mela takes place six years after the Maha Kumbh in each of the location. And how it lands up in each location varies according to what position the Sun, Moon, and Jupiter hold in that period in different zodiac signs.

It comes to Haridwar when Jupiter is in Aquarius and Sun is in Aries during the Hindu month of Chaitra i.e. in the month of March-April. In Allahabad it is celebrated in the month of January-February when Jupiter is in Aries or Taurus and Sun and Moon are in Capricorn during the Hindu month of Magha. In the Hindu month of Bhadraprada (August-September), when Sun and Jupiter are in Leo, Kumbh Mela comes to Nasik. And Ujjain gets to organize it when Jupiter is in Leo and Sun is in Aries, or when all three are in Libra during the Hindu month of Vaisakha i.e. April-May. Below is a comprehensive list of Kumbh Mela dates with the names of the host cities.

Kumbh Mela Dates 2019 (Allahabad)
The Kumbh Mela to be held in Allahabad (Prayag) in the year 2019 from 15th of January till 4th of March. Below is a table mentioning the important dates of Ardh Kumbh Mela 2019:
Date (2019) Day Event
15th January Tuesday Makar Sankranti (1St shahi Snan)
21st January Monday Paush Purnima
4th February Monday Mauni Amavasya (Main Royal Bath 2nd Shahi Snan)
10th February Sunday Basant Panchami (3rd shahi Snan)
19th February Tuesday Maghi Poornima
4th March Monday Maha Shivratri

Haridwar Ardh Kumbh Mela 2016 - Main Bathing (Snan) Dates:
Date (2016) Day Event
14th January Thursday Makar Sankranti
12th February Friday Vasant Panchami
22nd February Monday Magh Purnima
7th March Monday Mahashivratri
7th April Thursday Chaitra Amavasya
8th April Friday Chaitra Shukla Pratipada
14th April Thursday Mesha Sankranti
15th April Friday Ram Navami
22nd April Friday Chaitra shukla Purnima

Kumbh Mela Dates 2016 (Ujjain)
The Maha Kumbh Mela to be held in Ujjain in the year 2016 will commence on 22nd of April and will end on 21st of May 2016.
Date (2016) Day Event
22nd April Friday Purnima First Shahi Snaan (Royal Holy Dip)
3rd May Tuesday Vratparv Vauthini Ekadashi
6th May Friday Vaishakh Krishna Amavasya (First Pramukh Snan)
9th May Monday Shukla/Akshey Tritya (Second Pramukh Snan)
11th May Wednesday Shukla Panchami
15th May Sunday Vrishabh Sankranti
17th May Tuesday Ekadashi & Pradosh Snan
19th May Thursday Pradosh
20th May Friday Nursingh Jayanti
21st May Saturday Purnima Main Shahi Snan

Kumbh Mela Dates 2015 (Nasik)
The Kumbh Mela to be held in Nasik in the year 2015 will commence on 14th July and will continue for a year, ending on 11th August 2016. Below is a table mentioning the important dates of the Kumbh Mela to be held in Nasik in 2015:
Date (2015) Day Event
14th July Tuesday Flag hoisting of the main ceremony at Ram Kunda
14th August Friday Flag hoisting of the Akhara at Sadhugram
26th August Wednesday Shravan Shudha- First Snan
29th August Saturday First Shahi Snan
13th September Sunday Second Shahi Snan
18th September Friday Third Shahi Snan
25th September Friday Bhadrapad Shukla Dwadashi - Vaman Dwadashi Snan

On 11th August 2016 the Kumbh Mela will end with the flag lowering ceremony.